Sunday 27 March 2022 6.30pm

SCHUBERT Rosamunde Overture
MOZART Clarinet Concerto (soloist Richard Stockall)
DVORAK Symphony No 8

St Gabriel’s Church, Wanstead

Conductor: Mark Shanahan

The concert begins with Schubert’s dramatic overture to Rosamunde, which was originally written in 1820 as an overture to a melodrama called The Magic Harp. 

In our second piece, we are delighted to showcase our very own principal clarinet Richard Stockall in Mozart’s much-loved Clarinet Concerto. This work is one of Mozart very last compositions, premiered two months before his death and revealing his mature style at its finest. 

Dvorak’s Symphony No 8 completes the concert. Completed in 1889,  Dvorak himself claimed it was “different from the other symphonies, with individual thoughts worked out in a new way”. With its blending of his influences – from Bohemian folk music to Brahms and Wagner – and its evocation of nature, it remains one of his most appealing works.


Tickets will be available soon. For all ticket enquires please email


Comments are closed.

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...


    All entries, chronologically...